• RADM Fred Lewis I/ITSEC Postgraduate Scholarship
  • Leonard P. Gollobin Postgraduate Scholarship
  • Barbara McDaniel Undergraduate Scholarship

Hear from the I/ITSEC 2021 Scholarship Awardees

Nature of Scholarships

The Interservice/Industry Training, Simulation and Education Conference (I/ITSEC) is pleased to announce the Annual RADM Fred Lewis I/ITSEC Postgraduate Scholarships. The scholarships are being offered to stimulate student interest and university participation in preparing individuals for leadership in the Modeling & Simulation, Training, and Education communities. By investing in our future workforce, the scholarships encourage expansion of the I/ITSEC community and promote innovation through direct investment in our community’s future leaders. In the event that suitable candidates for one level are not identified, funds may be combined to provide two awards at the same level of study. The RADM Fred Lewis Postgraduate Scholarships awards are offered at a Masters level in the amount $5,000 and at a Doctoral level in the amount of $10,000.

The Annual Leonard P. Gollobin Postgraduate Scholarship program was generously bequeathed by Mr. Gollobin to direct students developing their technical talents into the defense industry. Throughout his career, Mr. Gollobin led scientific initiatives that improved our defense systems and strategically shaped our military capabilities. NTSA administers this scholarship with the intent to provide financial support for those seeking advanced degrees and a path to leverage their commitment to strengthen our nation's security.

The National Training & Simulation Association (NTSA) established the Annual Barbara McDaniel Undergraduate Scholarship program to acknowledge the substantial contributions of a long-time I/ITSEC leader. Mrs. McDaniel, the recipient of the I/ITSEC 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award, tirelessly supported all aspects of I/ITSEC since 1993. She began her career as an educator, so these awards will honor her life-long passion in the education of our youth. NTSA understands the importance of students pursuing Modeling & Simulation degrees and how vital it is to the modeling, simulation, and training (MS&T) industry. These new scholarship awards will keep the MS&T workforce pipeline filled, now starting at the Undergraduate level. The annual Barbara McDaniel Undergraduate Scholarships are awarded through three universities that the scholarship committee pre-selects each year for participation. It does not follow the post-graduate scholarship submission process. Each of the three schools will select up to two students for a combined award of $10,000.

The scholarship recipient(s) will attend I/ITSEC 2022 (28 November – 2 December 2022) at the expense of the National Training & Simulation Association (NTSA), where he or she will be recognized; view the latest in simulation, training, and education technologies; and meet leading figures from government, industry, and academia associated with this community.


The applicant must be a U.S. citizen and successfully complete undergraduate studies by the end of Spring Term 2022. The applicant also must be enrolled or accepted for a full-time masters or doctoral program in any of the following disciplines:

  • Engineering (Modeling, Simulation, and/or Training Related)
  • Operations Research/Systems Analysis/Mathematics
  • Distance Learning Methodologies
  • Human Factors (Psychology or Engineering)
  • Instructional Design and Training Methodology
  • Computer Science and/or Information Sciences

Selection Criteria

  • The applicant must have a stated interest and career goal in the Modeling & Simulation, Training, and/or Education Industry.
  • The award will be based on student merit as determined from the submitted application documents (see below).

Condition of Award

  • The scholarship must be used for education expenses (tuition, books, fees, room and board) and is subject to the established procedures/policies of the applicant's institution.
  • If the successful applicant terminates his/her graduate studies and there are remaining funds, the institution will retain such funds for award to another student of their choice following the above eligibility guidelines.
  • The successful applicant will prepare an abstract and, if approved, a paper to be presented at I/ITSEC in the respective area of study one year after completion of the degree program or within three years of scholarship receipt, whichever occurs first.

Selection Panel/Scholarship Administration

A panel consisting of individuals from the academia and past and I/ITSEC chairs will determine the selection. Administration of the scholarship program will reside with the NTSA, an affiliate of the National Defense Industrial Association (NDIA).

How to Apply

Submit the following to the I/ITSEC Scholarship (Lewis & Gollobin Scholarship) Program, postmarked no later than 24 June 2022:

  • Statement of how the scholarship will aid student in career pursuit (not more than 500 words). The synopsis must include a description on how the scholarship fits into the applicant's planned career in the Modeling, Simulation, Training or Education field.
  • Proof of U.S. Citizenship (copy of Birth Certificate, Social Security, or Passport).
  • Personal resume to include positions, outstanding awards, publications (if any) and leadership capabilities. Ensure that contact information (i.e. mailing address, phone, and e-mail) is included.
  • Undergraduate transcript.
  • Graduate transcript (if applicable). Transcripts must be official.
  • Recommendations from major advisor and one professor from the aforementioned disciplines.

Submission Deadlines

  • Postmarked: 24 June 2022
  • Award Announcement: 5 August 2022
  • Funds Available: Fall Term 2022

Past Recipients  |  Highlights from Past-scholarship Recipients

Scholarship Committee Chair

Janet Spruill
Aptima, Inc.

Direct further inquiries and provide submissions to:
National Training and Simulation Association (NTSA)
I/ITSEC Scholarship Program c/o Reneé Despot
2101 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 700
Arlington, VA 22201-3061
Phone: (703) 247-9490