The Interservice/Industry Training, Simulation and Education Conference (I/ITSEC) is pleased to announce the National Training & Simulation Association (NTSA) Annual RADM Fred Lewis, Leonard P. Gollobin, and Certified Modeling and Simulation Professional (CMSP) Postgraduate Scholarships. These awards are offered at a Masters level in the amount of $5,000 and at a Doctoral level in the amount of $10,000. If suitable candidates for one level are not identified, funds may be combined to provide two awards at the same level of study.

The scholarship recipient(s) will attend I/ITSEC 2024 (2 – 6 December 2024) at the expense of NTSA, where they will be recognized; view the latest in simulation, training, and education technologies; and meet leading figures from government, industry, and academia associated with this community.

RADM Fred Lewis I/ITSEC Postgraduate Scholarship

The Annual RADM Fred Lewis I/ITSEC Postgraduate Scholarships are being offered to stimulate student interest and university participation in preparing individuals for leadership in the Modeling & Simulation, Training, and Education communities. RADM Fred Lewis served as the NTSA President from 1995 – 2012 and initiated important core programs to identify and credential a professional workforce and established educational programs to stimulate interest in M&S careers at all grade levels. RADM Lewis knew by investing in our future workforce, these scholarships will encourage expansion of the I/ITSEC community and promote innovation through direct investment in our community’s future leaders.

Leonard P. Gollobin Postgraduate Scholarship

The Annual Leonard P. Gollobin Postgraduate Scholarship program was generously bequeathed by Mr. Gollobin to direct students developing their technical talents into the defense industry. Throughout his career, Mr. Gollobin led scientific initiatives that improved our defense systems and strategically shaped our military capabilities. NTSA administers this scholarship with the intent to provide financial support for those seeking advanced degrees and a path to leverage their commitment to strengthen our nation's security.

Certified Modeling and Simulation Professional (CMSP) Postgraduate Scholarship

The National Training & Simulation Association (NTSA) manages the Annual Certified Modeling and Simulation Professional (CMSP) Postgraduate Scholarship, implemented in 2022, at the Masters level in the amount of $5,000. The Certified Modeling & Simulation Professional (CMSP) certification program was created in 2002 to provide the Modeling & Simulation (M&S) industry with its own professional certification that remains valid for four years before recertification is required. The CMSP designation recognizes professionals with extensive experience and expertise in M&S. For more information about the CMSP program, visit

Barbara McDaniel Undergraduate Scholarship

NTSA manages the Annual Barbara McDaniel Undergraduate Scholarship program, implemented in 2019. The scholarship does not follow the postgraduate scholarship submission process. The NTSA scholarship committee pre-selects three academic institutions and those three institutions select up to two students for a combined award of $10,000. Barbara began her career as an educator prior to joining NTSA in 1993, as such these awards honor her life-long passion in the education of our youth. NTSA understands the importance of students pursuing Modeling & Simulation degrees and how vital it is to the modeling, simulation, and training (MS&T) industry. These scholarship awards will keep the MS&T workforce pipeline filled, starting at the Undergraduate level. 

Important Dates

  • Submission Deadline: 21 June 2024
  • Award Announcement: 2 August 2024
  • Funds Available: Fall Term 2024


Scholarship Committee Chair


Direct further inquiries to

Janet Spruill
  Reneé Despot
Aptima, Inc.
  Director, NTSA Meetings & Operations